• Excellence in Research award

    SDSU College of Arts and Letters Award

    The SDSU College of Arts and Letters holds an annual competition for the Excellence in Research award. The Award for Tenure-Track Faculty for 2017-2018 was awarded to Dr. Hilary McMillan from the Geography Department. The award recognizes exceptional promise for significant research achievement; outstanding capability to publish in quality venues and secure grants and/or awards. Recipients are recognized at the College Commencement and receive $1,000 in support of their research program.


    Picture shows Hilary and other College Award winners, with Dean Norma Bouchard, at the 2018 College Commencement

  • Presidential Research Faculty Fellow award

    SDSU award for Outstanding Research, Scholarship and Creative Endeavors

    Hilary was one of seven faculty members named Presidential Research Faculty Fellows at San Diego State University in recognition of their outstanding research, scholarship and creative endeavors. Each fellow received $25,000 to support their research activities. Deans from each academic college nominated faculty members based on contributions to their discipline and the impact of their work on the public interest.

    Read the news story here: https://newscenter.sdsu.edu/sdsu_newscenter/news_story.aspx?sid=78963

    Picture shows Hilary and Presidential Research Faculty Fellow award winners